spacer
NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scottish Medical Training

Scotland - the home of medical excellence

Key Dates

2020 RECRUITMENT KEY DATES

The key dates in the tables below relate to specialties being recruited to via the Scottish Medical Training process.  

Please refer to Where to Apply for Specialties Recruiting through UK Processes.

These dates are provisional and subject to change. 

 

ROUND 1:   Core and Run Through* August 2020 Start
Thursday 31 October 2019

Adverts on OrielNHS Jobs and Find A Job

 

10am, Thursday 7 November 2019

Core and Run Through Applications OPEN

 

4pm, Thursday 28 November 2019

Core and Run Through Applications CLOSE

NOTE: Late Applications will NOT be considered

5pm, Monday 9 March 2020

All initial offers issued across the UK by this date

 

1pm, Friday 13 March 2020

Hold Deadline 

 

4pm, Friday 20 March 2020

Upgrade Deadline

  

4pm, Wednesday 25 March 2020

Hierarchal Deadline

 

 

* Please note that following ST3+ specialties are also recruited to in Round 1:

  • Cardiothoaric Surgery ST3
  • Nuclear Medicine ST3
  • Neurosurgery ST3
  • Ophthalmology ST3
  • Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery ST3

 

DUE TO THE CANCELLATION OF SOME SELECTION CENTRES FOR ROUND 2 AND ROUND 1 READVERT THE TIMELINES BELOW FOR ROUND 2 AND ROUND 1 READVERT HAVE BEEN AMENDED. 

ROUND 2:   ST3+ August 2020 Start
Tuesday 21 January 2020

Adverts on OrielNHS Jobs and Find A Job

 

10am, Wednesday 29 January 2020

ST3+ Applications OPEN

 

10am, Monday 24 February 2020

ST3+ Applications CLOSE

NOTE: Late Applications will NOT be considered

Tuesday 14 April to Friday 1 May 2020

Assessment Window

Amended timeline

Monday 11 May 2020

Initial Offers Released by 

Amended timeline 

Monday 18 May 2020

Upgrade & Hold Deadline

Amended timeline 

  

  

ROUND 1 Readverts:   Core and Run Through August 2020 Start **
Wednesday 12 February 2020

Adverts on OrielNHS Jobs and Find A Job

 

10am, Tuesday 25 February 2020

Core and Run Through Applications OPEN

 

4pm, Thursday 12 March 2020

Core and Run Through Applications CLOSE

NOTE: Late Applications will NOT be considered

Tuesday 14 April to Thursday 14 May 2020

Assessment Window

Amended timeline

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Initial Offers Released by

Amended timeline

Friday 29 May 2020

Upgrade & Hold Deadline

Amended timeline

  

 

ROUND 2 Readverts:   Core, Run-Through and ST3+ February 2020 Start **
Wednesday 15 July 2020

Adverts on OrielNHS Jobs and Find A Job

 

10am, Tuesday 28 July 2020

ST3+ Applications OPEN

 

4pm, Thursday 13 August 2020

ST3+  Applications CLOSE

NOTE: Late Applications will NOT be considered

5pm, Monday 5 October 2020

All initial offers issued across the UK by this date

 

1pm, Wednesday 7 October 2020

Hold Deadline 

 

4pm, Friday 9 October 2020

Upgrade Deadline

 

4pm, Tuesday 13 October 2020

Hierachal Deadline

 

 

** Not all specialties recruit in the Readvert Rounds. Details of those taking part can be found on the relevant specialties Lead Recruiter website. Please visit the Where To Apply page for links to the relevant site. 

 

 

 

 

 


Top