NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scottish Medical Training

Scotland - the home of medical excellence

Speciality: Acute Care Common Stem - Internal Medicine Training (ACCS- IMT)

Programme Description
GMC Reference: WOS/401

The ACCS program is a four-year program that is a collaboration between the four specialties of Acute Internal Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Anaesthetics and Intensive Care Medicine. It gives trainees the opportunity to gain experience and competencies in the four base specialties and aims to produce multi-competent doctors with the ability to recognise and manage the sick patient.

 In the west of Scotland, the first year is spent in six months rotations in Acute Internal Medicine and Emergency Medicine with the second year spent in six months rotations in Anaesthetics and Intensive Care Medicine. The third and fourth years are spent within the IMT program to gain the competencies required for application to higher training.  In these two years there is a switch to the IMT curriculum and the opportunity to work in medical specialties with a requirement to complete a placement in care of the elderly. At the end of year four, trainees will be eligible to apply for higher training in group 1 medical specialties.

The rotations are available in West of Scotland Hospitals including Glasgow, Ayrshire, Lanarkshire, Forth Valley and Dumfries. Trainees are given the opportunity to give their preferences for the rotations for their first, third and fourth years, with the second year being allocated by the Anaesthetics Training Program Director (usually but not exclusively in the same hospital as the first year).  

Where is the training delivered?
Training is delivered across:

University Hospital Ayr, University Hospital Crosshouse, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Forth Valley Royal Hospital - FVRH, Gartnavel General, Glasgow, Inverclyde Royal Hospital, Greenock, University Hospital Monklands, Airdrie, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Paisley , The Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow , New Victoria Hospital, Glasgow, Western Infirmary, Glasgow, University Hospital Wishaw

Ayr Hospital (Ayr), Crosshouse Hospital (Kilmarnock), Glasgow Royal Infirmary (Glasgow), Inverclyde Royal Hospital (Greenock), Monklands Hospital (Greenock), Royal Alexandra Hospital (Paisley), Southern General Hospital (Glasgow), Forth Valley Royal Hospital (Larbert), Victoria Infirmary (Glasgow), Western Infirmary/Gartnavel General (Glasgow), Wishaw General Hospital (Wishaw). 

Contacts and Useful Links
Programme Type Deanery based or National: Deanery
Administration office West of Scotland
Lead Dean / Director Professor Adam Hill
Responsible Associate Postgraduate Dean or Assistant Director (GP) Dr Stephen Glen
Specialty or Sub-specialty Specialty or Sub-specialty: Specialty
Date of GMC recent approval August 2010
Associated Royal College - Faculty
Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board (web site)
Curriculum and Associated Assessment System
Programme Administrator: Named Programme Administrator: Margaret McDove
Address: NHS Education for Scotland Glasgow, G3 8BW
Programme Director Programme Director Name: Dr Christine Aiken
Address: Glasgow Royal Infirmary
Quality of Training Quality Management

How to Apply

Search Specialty
Training Opportunities