NHS Education for Scotland Logo

Scottish Medical Training

Scotland - the home of medical excellence

Speciality: Acute Internal Medicine

Programme Description
GMC Reference: WOS/2069

The West of Scotland's Training Programme in Acute Internal Medicine is based in the teaching hospitals of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde and surrounding District General Hospital (DGH) of NHS Ayrshire and Arran, NHS Lanarkshire, NHS Forth Valley and NHS Dumfries and Galloway.

Trainees are expected to dual accredit in General (Internal) Medicine.  The programme will be tailored to the individual needs of the trainees and usually lasts five years.  The first year of training will normally be a rotation round medical specialties in a DGH.  For thos entering from ACCS there will be 18 months MAU post experience in years 2 to 4.  Trainees who enter from CMT will experience 6 months critical care, usually in an Intensive Care Unit in their second year.  CMT trainees will be expected to do 1 year in medical admission units (MAU) and gain further experience in medical specialties.  Trainees will experience at least two different MAUs.  The final year of training will include at least 6 months within an AMU that is led by an Acute Physician where the trainee takes a more senior, but supervised, role within the running of the acute medical take.

The programme has strong links with medical education and trainees can do Out of Programme training in this field as well as in research, Stroke Medicine training and critical care.  Specialist skills in education, management, cardiac and medical ultrasound, endoscopy and critical care are encouraged.  There are a minimum of four Acute Internal Medicine training days per year as well as a well developed General (Internal) Medicine training course.

Where is the training delivered?
Training is delivered across:

University Hospital Ayr, University Hospital Crosshouse, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Forth Valley Royal Hospital - FVRH, Gartnavel General, Glasgow, Glasgow Royal Infirmary, University Hospital Hairmyres, East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire, Inverclyde Royal Hospital, Greenock, University Hospital Monklands, Airdrie, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Paisley , The Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow , Stobhill Hospital, Glasgow, New Victoria Hospital, Glasgow, University Hospital Wishaw

Glasgow Royal Infirmary, Glasgow
Gartnavel General Hospital, Glasgow
Southern General Hospital, Glasgow
Hairmyres Hospital, East Kilbride
Forth Valley Royal Hospital, Larbert
Crosshouse Hospital, Kilmarnock
Monklands District General Hospital, Airdrie
Wishaw General Hospital, Wishaw
Victoria Infirmary, Glasgow
Stobhill Hospital, Glasgow
Royal Alexandra Hospital, Paisley
Ayr Hospital, Ayr
Inverclyde Royal Hospital, Greenock

Contacts and Useful Links
Programme Type Deanery based or National: Deanery
Administration office West of Scotland
Lead Dean / Director Professor Alastair McLellan
Responsible Associate Postgraduate Dean or Assistant Director (GP) Dr David Marshall
Specialty or Sub-specialty Specialty or Sub-specialty: Specialty
Date of GMC recent approval August 2010
Associated Royal College - Faculty
Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board (web site)
Curriculum and Associated Assessment System
Programme Administrator: Named Programme Administrator: Zoe Park
Address: NHS Education for Scotland West Region Central Quay 89 Hydepark Street Glasgow G3 8BW
Programme Director Programme Director Name: Dr Ravi Jamdar
Address: Glasgow Royal Infirmary
Quality of Training Quality Management

How to Apply

Search Specialty
Training Opportunities